Ramapo Parks
Questions? call: 845.357.6100

Public Missions

Challenger Center Public MissionsCome join us for a Simulated Space Mission or a Planetarium Program! Call Today and Reserve a Unique Experience You can Share with your Family and Friends.

Public Simulated Space Missions are scheduled on the third Sunday of every month except when the third Sunday is a holiday (please check the dates below). Public Simulated Space Missions begin at 2:00pm and are approximately three hours in duration. Missions to the Moon, to Mars, and to a Comet are offered on a monthly rotational basis.

Public Planetarium Programs are scheduled on the second Sunday of every month except when the 2nd Sunday is a holiday (please check the dates below). Public Planetarium Programs begin at 2:00pm and are approximately two hours in duration. The planetarium show is approximately 1 hour and will feature one of our full-dome movies as well as a tour of the night sky. For approximately 1 hour following the planetarium show, participants will take part in various hands-on activities in our activity room. Please be advised that our planetarium has floor seating only.

  • Participants should arrive at our center 15 minutes (1:45pm) prior to the mission or show start time.
  • Tickets are $10 per person ($5 for seniors) and may be purchased in cash, by credit card or by a check made payable to the Town of Ramapo on the day of the mission. It is recommended that participants be at least 9 years old; however, younger children (ages 8 and under) may participate for $5 if accompanied by a paying adult. RESERVATIONS ARE HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
  • Parents that wish to drop off older children (9 years and above) must sign in the children, and leave a phone number where they can be reached.

Uploaded Image: /uploads/images/voyage-to-mars.jpgUploaded Image: /uploads/images/rendezvous-comet.jpgUploaded Image: /uploads/images/return-to-moon.jpg

Public Mission Dates for 2019

Voyage to Mars 
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Sunday, May 19, 2019
Sunday, August 18, 2019
Sunday, November 17, 2019                                                                                                                                                                                  

Rendezvous With A Comet  
Sunday, March 17, 2019
Sunday, June 16, 2019
Sunday, September 16, 2019
Sunday, December 15, 2019  
                                                                                                                         

 

Return to the Moon
Sunday, January 20, 2019
Sunday, April 28, 2019
Sunday, July 21, 2019
Sunday, October 20, 2019
                                                                                                 

Uploaded Image: /uploads/images/two-small-pieces-of-glass.jpgUploaded Image: /uploads/images/Ibex.jpgUploaded Image: /uploads/images/The-Little-Star-That-Could.jpg

Public Planetarium Dates for 2018 - 2019

Movie: Two Small Pieces of Glass
Recommended Age: 9 and up
Activity: Building and Using a Refracting MPS
Sunday, February 10, 2019
Sunday, June 9, 2019
Sunday, October 13, 2019

Movie: IBEX
Recommended Age: 9 and Up
Activity: Exploring the Electromagnetic Spectrum
Sunday, April 14, 2019
Sunday, August 11, 2019

Sunday, December 8, 2019

Movie: The Little Star That Could
Recommended Age: 5 and Up
Activity: How Big Is Our Solar System
Sunday, January 13, 2019
Sunday, March 10, 2019
Sunday, May 12, 2019
Sunday, July 14, 2019
Sunday, September 8, 2019
Sunday, November 10, 2019